Teacher…

November 3, 2010 at 9:15 AMNov (Poetry, Slice Of Life, Soliloquy)

Teacher,
Before you told me about Gandhi’s assassination
You told me- truth triumphs.

Teacher,
before you told me about Socrates
you told me- truth triumphs

Teacher,
Before you told me about Galileo
You told me- truth triumphs.

Teacher,
Before I learnt that in China it’s believed that ‘what triumphs is the truth’
You told me- truth triumphs.

Teacher,
Before I learnt about Ken Saro Wiwa
You told me- truth triumphs

Teacher,
Before I learnt about Operation Kalank resulting in nothing
You told me- truth triumphs.

Teacher,
Before I learnt about Binayak Sen
You told me- truth triumphs.

Teacher,
You told me a lie; when
You told me- truth triumphs.

Teacher,
It’s a lie, repeat it
If you don’t want to lose your job!

– Samvartha ‘Sahil’

11 June 2008

Leave a Reply

