Tujh Mein Rab Dikhtaa Hai

November 3, 2010 at 9:15 AMNov (Cinema, Friends, Letter, Literature, Musings, Slice Of Life)

I came out of the theatre with two things. One: head ache, two: the song Tujh Mein Rab Dikhta Hai. The song had made an impression in my heart from the day my friend Siddarth made me listen to it. While coming out of the theatre i was humming the song.

That night i was chatting with Diana, my friend. As i was discussing the song, i rememberd a story which i narrated to Diana. Its a story of thr tryst of Maxim Gorky and Leo Tolstoy, which my senior friend Phaniraj had narrated to me two years ago, which i also used in my thesis.

The story goes like this:

Once Gorky went to meet Tolstoy. At the time of meeting Tolstoy was sitting on a rock in a barren land. Maxim walked towards him and stopped few steps away and stood silent. After few minutes Leo did notice Maxim’s arrival and asked “why couldn’t you call me?” Maxim said “something stopped me” Knowing that Gorky was an atheist, Tolstoy asks Gorky “What could have stopped an atheist like you?” for the reply of Gorky sounded as if some supernatural force stopped him. Gorky answered back Tolstoy saying “In the given environ you looked like a God”

25 December 2008

Leave a Reply

