Kissa-E-Khat ~ 1

May 19, 2016 at 9:15 PMMay (Friends, Letter, Musings, Poetry, Slice Of Life, Soliloquy)

When in a stranger town, for work, I befriended a person who was about to go abroad for higher studies in some days. When she left I shot her a mail and she replied. I responded. She answered.

We wrote to each other almost on a daily basis initially and quite regularly, if not daily, nearly after a month of daily exchange.

Slowly I started realizing that I was falling for her but was in denial for a long time. I was also trying to battle my feelings for her.

But then one day, I received a handwritten post card from the other side of the globe. That is it. I admitted to myself that I am in love with this girl and put on the ground all the weapons I had equipped myself with to battle my feelings.

She had drawn a flower on the card. I replied saying, “woh phool tanha mehsoos kar raha hai yahaan, tamaam gulshan ek lifaafey mein bhej deejiye…” (The flower is lonely. Please send an entire garden in an envelope)

I craved for more and I started loving her even the more.

It was that one hand written post card…

(Memory recollected while in a conversation with Rashmi Ramchandani around the magic and beauty of letter writing.)

Leave a Reply

