Life: Ephimeral And Eternal

November 3, 2010 at 9:15 AMNov (Friends, Literature, Musings, Poetry, Slice Of Life, Soliloquy)

“Life is ephemeral and also eternal,” I told her.

I quoted the great Kannada poet Gopalakrishna Adiga:

Doctor mattu nursugalu herige maneyola-horage,
Avara bennige sada nalku mandi.

(Doctor and Nurse, in and around the labor ward
always behind them, four people.)

Those four people who are constantly behind will carry the doctor and the nurse, who are in and around the labor ward, but the labor ward will continue to exist and new entries will be registered every now and then. Even the new entries born will have four people at their back!

Like the waves, moments of glory and melancholy keep coming and going. Similarly people keep coming and going. But the sea is continuous.

The novel of life has many a chapters and it’s true that there is a zero space after every chapter but it’s also true that there is a next chapter, which will take forward the narrative of the novel.

I brought forward an image used by K.V.Tirumalesh, another renowned poet in Kannada, who says: Naanu gorigala mela hullu beleyuvudannu kande (I saw grasses grow on the tombstone) to say that where the caterpillar dies, butterfly takes birth. Every end is a new beginning.

I was talking to her for the first time, for so long, in three years. I knew she wouldn’t be coming to the institute in future for she had just come out of the exam hall writing her last paper of her last semester.

As I was talking to Pratyusha about all this I remembered that I had to help her classmates Sana and Nazlah to re-edit their documentary, which they have to take with them, before they leave. So I took leave from her, who I had met in the corridor, like a passing ship, as I was walking towards the edit lab. As I was leaving I remembered a couplet of Javed Akthar which I recited to her:

Lo dekh lo yeh ishq hai yeh wasl hai yeh hijr
ab laut chale aao bahut kaam pada hai

(look, this is love this is unification and this is separation,
Come lets go back, a lot of work remains undone)

***

In the lab I was wondering: who was I trying to make all these understand? Pratyusha or Samvartha?

(I must confess here that all the lines of poetry that I quoted have a higher level of meaning and not confined to the context in which Pratyusha and I were discussing)

19 May 2008

Leave a Reply

